Go to content

June 12, 2003

The Texas A&M University System Health Science Center

Minutes of the HSC Faculty Senate Monthly TTVN Meeting

June 12, 2003

3:30 -- 5:00 p.m.

A PDF of these minutes is also available.

Senators present:

BCD: Larry L. Bellinger, Ph.D., Byron Benson, D.D.S., M.S., Mark Gannaway, D.D.S., Allen L. Honeyman, D.D.S., Thomas McKinney, D.D.S., John D. Regan, BA, Bdent Sc., MSC, MS

COM: Paul Brandt, Ph.D., Cynthia J. Meininger, Ph.D., Alan Parrish, Ph.D.

COM-Clinical: Mark Montgomery, M.D.,

GSBS: Farida Sohrabji, Ph.D.

IBT: Fen Wang, Ph.D., Mingyao Liu, Ph.D.

SRPH: Alicia Dorsey, Ph.D., Larry D. Gamm, Ph.D.

Call to Order:

Speaker Dorsey called the meeting to order unofficially at 3:40 p.m.

Confirmation of a quorum:

It was determined that a quorum was not present.

Approval of minutes:

Due to the lack of a quorum, the minutes of the May meeting were not approved.

Comments from the Chair:

Speaker Dorsey welcomed everyone for coming to the meeting. Since a quorum was not present, several agenda items (Proposed Calendar Changes and Elections Committee/Responsibilities and HSC Distinguished Professor Policy and Procedures Review) will be discussed at the August meeting. She also reported that the suggested changes to the policy regarding ‘freezing’ the tenure clock are currently being worked on at the system level.


Dr. Dickey provided a current update on budget implications from the legislative session. Thanks to several legislators (Senator Steve Ogden, Representative Fred Brown, Senator Royce West and Representative Ruth McClendon), theTAMUS-HSC did very well relative to other health science centers. However, the State Comptroller has not yet certified the budget and until then these numbers are not final. Dr. Dickey believes that the TAMUS-HSC budget, while still facing a reduction, is better than the initial indications. Dr. Dickey stated that full formula funding for Baylor College of Dentistry was approved and this will then continue in subsequent biennia. An undergraduate medical academy at Prairie View A&M was approved, but not funded. Dr. Dickey also reported on the Benefits and Retirement changes. The health insurance will go up on September 1, 2003. New employees and International students will have a 90-day wait period before the state will pay for their insurance. Retirement was also discussed. Currently, employees who are at least 55 with five years of state service credit or who meet the rule of 80 (years of service + your age = 80), and who have worked at least three years for the A&M System, can retire and continue to be eligible for A&M System insurance benefits and the state insurance premium contribution. Dr. Dickey encouraged everyone to review his or her benefits this year before annual enrollment is over (7/31/03).

Regents Service Award: A quorum was not present to approve the two nominees and Speaker Dorsey stated that the HSC Executive Committee would be charged with accepting the nominees. The two nominees were: Wallace McKeehan, Ph.D. - IBT and Larry Bellinger, Ph.D. - BCD. Speaker Dorsey will notify them that their final nomination packet must be in the President’s office by July 7th.


HSC Academic Resources Review Task Force: Dr. Farida Sohrabji reported on the Medical Sciences Library and reviewed issues related to access to academic resources. It was suggested that a faculty representative be included on the Alliance of Libraries committee. This may facilitate further integration across HSC and TAMU. Dr. Parrish asked Dr. Sohrabji to collect more information and present it to the Senate. Dr. Sohrabji will get feedback from the Alliance to see if they want faculty participating. Although several components have a library council/committee of faculty members, there is currently not one in place at the Baylor College of Dentistry.

Standing Committee Reports:

Executive Committee: Updated during the Comments from the Chair:

Elections Committee: No report.

Personnel & Welfare Committee: No report.

Website Task Force: No report.

The meeting adjourned at 4:56 p.m.