Go to content

February 12, 2004

Minutes of the HSC Faculty Senate TTVN Meeting
February 12, 2004
3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
John B. Connally Building

Senators present
BCD: Pete Benson, D.D.S.,M.S., Patricia Campbell, Robert Cederberg, D.D.S., David Grogan, D.D.S., M.S., Allen L. Honeyman,Ph.D., Bob Hutchins, Ph.D., John D. Regan, BA, Bdent Sc., Msc., MS, Francisco Rivera-Hidalgo, B.S., D.M.D., M.S., Mark Gannaway, D.D.S.

COM: Paul Brandt Ph.D., Cynthia J. Meininger, Ph.D., Gul A. Russell, Ph.D., H. Wayne, Sampson, Ph.D.

COM Clinical: Rick Winn, M.D.

GSBS: Lynne Opperman, Ph.D., Farida Sohrabji, Ph.D.

IBT: Mingyao Liu, Ph.D., Fen Wang, Ph.D., Potaman Vladmir, Ph.D.

SRPH: Jane N. Bolin, RN, JD, Larry D. Gamm, Ph.D., Steven Moore, MPH, Anne Sweeney, Ph.D.

Call to Order: Speaker Sohrabji called the meeting to order at 3:34 p.m.

Confirmation of a quorum: It was determined that a quorum was present.

Approval of minutes: A motion was made to accept the January minutes as submitted. The motion was seconded and approved unanimously.

Comments from the Chair: Speaker Sohrabji reported on the Council of Advisors meeting. Mr. Tommy Bosquez noted that there had been an increase from November's figures. The HSC has a good chance that it would reach its goal. Mr. Bosquez is in the process of creating and distributing a HUB ACCESS newsletter to keep everyone focused on using HUB vendors. Martha Bedard gave library updates. Also discussed was the HSC logo. Ms. Parker distributed sample logos for potential use but was asked to continue work on them. The new primary domain name (tamhsc.edu) has been implemented at BCD and IBT. The entire HSC should be able to use this new name.

Old Business:

Update on the Q&A for the AFERRT will be on hold until Dr. Bellinger has more information.

Web Page: Dr. Brandt said he had discussed the possibility of moving the Faculty Senate link on the HSC webpage to a more readily accessible location with the HSC content webmaster, Stephanie Smith. Ms. Smith noted that it was HSC policy to keep faculty and staff information separate from the main HSC webpage seen by the public. She added that if we felt strongly about this she would present it to the communications committee. Dr. Brandt suggested that there might be a work around by putting the link prominently on the component webpages. Stephanie had provided contacts for all component webmasters and Dr. Brandt will contact them to try to get the link to the Faculty Senate prominently displayed.

Dr. Brandt also reported that an updated list of faculty senators and caucus leaders has been posted on the Faculty Senate webpage.

New Business:

Elections for Elections Committee and Personnel and Welfare Committee. Results are as follows:
Elections Committee: BCD - Dr. Lynne Opperman; COM- Dr. Wayne Sampson; IBT - ??; SRPH - Dr. Steven Moore.
Personnel and Welfare Committee: BCD - Dr. Allen Honeyman; COM - Dr. Steve Maxwell; IBT - ??; SRPH - Jane Bolin

Regents Service Award: Dr. Sohrabji gave a review on the necessary timeline for submission and review of the nominations for the Regents Service Award. Names will be submitted to the Office of the President no later than ???

Priorities for 2004: With this being the first meeting under the new board, Speaker Sohrabji asked the senators what they would like to work on for this next year. Ms. Bolin would like to take into account what policies will be need and adopted for the Health Science Center. Ms. Bolin will take charge to see what policies will be needed.

Standing Committee Reports:
Deferred until next meeting.

The next Faculty Senate meeting will be held on April 8, 2004. The next face-to face Faculty Senate meeting will be on Thursday, June 10, 2004, to be held in Temple, Texas. Please mark your calendar for this meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 4:10 p.m.